SSO-013 The Two’s Encounter

The previous translation group has cancelled this novel translation project. I am continuing from where they left off. I change the chapter number to match syosetsu’s chapter numbering.

I changed Chloe to Kuroe, I like this name better. It is also a metaphor on how she is dressed in mostly black clothes.


Chapter begins

We are now in the [Twilight Forest]. The forest is dark as the sun has set. Though, it is not so dark due to the effect of the [Night Vision] skill. We go deeper into the forest, to a place I have never entered.

“Kuroe-dono, enemy, there is none, it’s safe, degozaru.”

I hear a voice from the top of a tree nearby. It was from the ninja girl who beg me in dogeza earlier. Her name was Tsubaki-san.

“Are there any owls?”

“… Owl, none”

A little disappointing voice was heard through party Chat. Tsubaki-san want to tame [Twilight Owl] that apparently appears in this forest. That’s why she asked me that has the same Twilight Owl.

Unfortunately, Neil is a familiar. But they have the same summoning system. I think that getting a Familiar and Taming is little different but I thought that I could help a little, so I am helping Tsubaki-san. Also, we are both role player.

Tsubaki-san role playing is great. Her play style and the way she speaks make me think she really is a ninja. Maybe, she is a real ninja even in real life.

“Kuroe-dono, next, east, explore-gozaru”

“East … In the east [Twilight Fungus] comes out so please be careful”

“Ok-degozaru. Kuroe-dono, forest, know well. Lost, not even once.”

“E, ah, I’m just good at knowing the direction.”

I have never been in this part of the forest. It is probably the [Land Familiarity] effect that I do not get lost. After walking for some time, Neil start to hooting. Telling me there is a monster presence ahead that I can’t sense. Is it the effect of [Forest Sage]?

“By the way, why does Tsubaki-san want to catch an owl?”

For me, it was on the spur of the moment. I decided to make Neil my familiar while fighting it, who suddenly appeared. However, Tsubaki-san has decided to tame the owl from the beginning. Did she have special reason?

“… Owl, I like it”

…… A simple answer is back. I see, she wants to have one because she likes it. I understand a little. I also want a black cat to become my familiar by all means.

“Enemy, came”

Following Tsubaki-san warning, I turn to look ahead. There is mushroom monster a little bit away from us. Is it about three?

“Kuroe-dono, like we did earlier”

“I understand”

After hearing my answer, Tsubaki-san disappear without making a sound. I also went to get as close as possible to the mushroom monster without alerting them while preparing to cast my magic.

After a while, Tsubaki appeared behind one mushroom. Doing a slash using katana in her hand, the mushroom monster was defeated in a single strike. From the look of it, she is using techniques that are more powerful when using it in a surprise attack.

Now, it’s time to show myself. When the remaining mushrooms notice me, Neil use [Dark Mist] skill. Spores fly out of the mushrooms that got into a panic state. It seems to make paralyzed if you inhale it. Fortunately, Tsubaki-san has already left the spore range, I am also out of the range.

I attack the mushrooms using [Dark Burst]. However, a little HP remains. Right now, is night time, even the [Upheaval] was activated, as expected the monster level was higher than mine. So, it can’t be defeated that easily.

The rest was an easy task. Tsubaki-san defeated the mushrooms in [Darkness] state with a single strike each.

However, Tsubaki-san way of fighting is not compatible with mine. It is not because she prefers dark place, I want to fight more flashily, but ninjas don’t.

“Kuroe-dono?”

“Ah … nothing. Thank you for finishing the fight Tsubaki-san”

“But, it was, Kuroe-dono, make, easier, I, grateful.”

Tsubaki-san, who has a higher level than me, feels grateful to me. Even though my level is lower, at the current time my fighting power is high, so I won’t get any trouble with the battle, and I also became the guide. She seem to be grateful for those two things.

“Thank you, but this time the goal is to capture an owl, right?”

“… yes!”

It seems that she forgot the original purpose because she concentrated on that last battle. Tsubaki-san start to search for an owl figure on the surrounding.

“Tsubaki-san !?”

Suddenly, Tsubaki-san jumped on a tree. I am surprised at the sudden action.

“I found it … owl!”

Finally, found it! She run on the tree as it is, let’s go after her. When I caught up, Tsubaki-san and the owl is facing each other.

“Kuroe-dono, the way to catch, tell me, degozaru”

I have told Tsubaki-san an advice to catch it. It seems that she went to ask again for confirmation.

“First of all, let the other party know your ability. Otherwise, It won’t work.”

I think that halving it HP is enough. Well, I’m not a tamer, but familiar user.

You can see that the owl HP is being reduced by Tsubaki-san’s attack.

“I think it’s enough, Tsubaki-san.”

Hearing my voice, Tsubaki-san immediately takes a distance with the owl. Since it’s HP has been sufficiently reduced, it should be good.

“Capture, good,now?”

“Yes. Please put your feelings in to it.”

“Feeling …”

Tsubaki-san approached while being careful of the owl attack, and activated the [Capture] skill. The tamer’s capture skills can’t be done without the other’s consent. As the level goes up it will be possible. But … I think that is completely unrelated.

The light of the capture magic circle wrapped the owl and disappeared. The fallen owl flies up and perched in Tsubaki-san’s arm.

“Kuroe-dono! Capture, success, degozaru!”

The excited Tsubaki-san comes with an owl. Oh, she succeeded. At the time of the contract of familiar, Neil disappeared, so I thought it would be the same. Apparently it is different with tamer.

“It was good, isn’t it?”

“Yes! This is also thanks to Kuroe-dono!”

She looks very happy. However, I think this kind of joyful expression is a character collapse. The Tsubaki-san up until now was more ninja like and cool. That time with the dogeza, and the Tsubaki-san right now has shown how she is really like.

“Oh … excuse me, I’m sorry.”

When she noticed it, Tsubaki-san became a little restless. She hid her bright red face with a scarf around her neck.

“For now, let’s leave this forest”

She silently agrees with a nod. Un, this way feels more Tsubaki-san like.

When we left 【Tranquil Forest】, the sunshine welcomed us warmly. The night has already ended. We go out to the plains and confirm the safety, then Tsubaki-san give her tamed owl a name.

“…… Haku”

It looks like she decided to name it Haku. Haku who perch in Tsubaki-san’s arm replies happily. But Haku is big. Haku has his [Twilight Owl] form as it is, Neil can’t be compared at al.

“Can I have a minute?”

I want to try something for a while, so I get the Haku to go to the ground and put Neil on top of Haku. There is too much physical disparity, so Neil can ride on Haku. As both has ash gray color, it look like a kagami mochi.

“……Tiny”

Tsubaki-san’s is swaying beside me. Do you want to take a photo? Of course, I have already taken it.

Ah … Neil, please don’t get depressed. It cannot be helped, he is pets and you are familiar. Please don’t mind the physical difference that is like parent and child.

“Kuroe-dono, thank you degozaru. If troubles, comes, call me degozaru”

Tsubaki-san said so. Thank you very much.

“Let’s meet again.”

Tsubaki-san went away after speaking to those words. Of course, with her new partner Haku. Haku follow Tsubaki-san while flying gracefully in this sunny daytime sky.

“Yeah, Neil. Would you like to work in the daytime as well?”

Neil went sleeping on my shoulder. He turns his neck one hundred eighty degrees so that he could avoid my gaze.

Name : Kuroe

Race  : Human

Gender        : Female

[Birth Status: Bradley’s Viscount Family]

[Personal History: Ran Away from Home to Embark on an Adventure]

LV13 – SP 8

Basic Skills:

[Two-handed Staff LV10]
[Dark Magic LV11]
[Wind Magic LV10]
[Magic Knowledge LV11]
[Magic Power LV11]
[Moonlight LV4]
[Upheaval LV4]
[Summon: Familiar LV 9]
[Command LV5]
[Taste LV4]
[Night Vision LV7]
[Appraisal: Plant LV 6]
[Gathering LV 8]
[Compounding LV8]
[Poison Resistance LV3]
[Magic Resistance LV3]
[Sleep Resistance LV3]
[Language: Swaro Kingdom LV 4]

Unique Skills:

[Language: Hayes Region]
[Social Status: Enté Dukedom, Bradley Viscount Family]
[Camping]
[Land Familiarity]

Name : Neil
Race: Familiar
Gender: Male
LV6

Basic Skills:
[Dark Sense LV6]
[Dark Mist LV5]

Unique Skills:
[Forest Sage]
[Nocturnal]

By the way, Haku is a female.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started